Statute of Limitations for Louisiana Hurricane Claims
The statute of limitations is the period of time that a person has to file a claim or bring some sort of legal action. In other words, this is the deadline that one has to start a legal process before they lose their legal rights to do so.
Almost everything has a statute of limitations, including hurricane claims. These will vary by state. In Louisiana, the law states that when catastrophic events occur and officials declare a state of emergency or disaster, property owners have at least 180 days from the date of the event to file a hurricane damage insurance claim.
This means that those who sustained property damage in Hurricane Laura have until approximately February 23, 2021 to file a claim and submit proof of loss, including photos, receipts of loss, contractor estimates, and other forms of evidence.
Property owners who sustained loss in Hurricane Ida can file a claim until August 29th, 2023. However, keep in mind that it’s always a good idea to start the recovery process as soon as possible!
Don’t Miss Your Deadline
There are certain circumstances where the 180-day deadline may be extended. For instance, if a policyholder is denied access to their property by civil officials during a state of emergency or disaster, they may have additional time to gather evidence and file their hurricane damage claim.
Oftentimes, getting the insurance company to pay you fair and maximum compensation for your losses involves getting a local hurricane damage claims attorney on your side. At The Chopin Law Firm, our attorneys are standing by ready to assist those in our local communities who have been affected by hurricane season.
Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our firm to get a free policy review and speak with our legal team at no cost.
Contact our New Orleans hurricane damage claims attorneys at (504) 475-2429 at your earliest convenience.